Next Issue

April 2014

  • Horse-Vacation Planner
  • Cross-Country Hauling Guide
  • On-the-Go Gear

Books & DVDs

from HorseBooksEtc

Related Topics

from the Forums

Free Newsletters

Sign Up for our Free Newsletters

Horse Barn Plans

A raised center aisle (RCA) design, in which the roof is split into three parts, can increase your barn's light and ventilation, especially if you place windows between the top and side roof sections. This RCA model is by Castlebrook Barns.

Barn Resources

ACE Buildings (888) 449-7756; www.acebuildings.com

American Steel Buildings (800) 803-7982; www.americansteelbuildings.com

Ameri Stall (888) 234-BARN, ext. 29; (940) 381-0191, ext. 29; www.ameristall.com

Barnmaster, Inc. (800) 500-BARN; www.barnmaster.com

Castlebrook Barns (888) 52-BARNS; www.castlebrookbarns.com

Cleary Building (800) 373-5550; www.clearybuilding.com

Cover-All Building Systems (800) 268-3768; www.coverall.net

Handi-Klasp/Weldy Enterprises (800) 628-4728; (574) 862-4491;
www.handi-klasp.com

Heritage Building Systems (800) 643-5555; www.heritagebuildings.com

Kentucky Steel Buildings (859) 294-0791

Lester Buildings (800) 826-4439; www.lesterbuildings.com

MD Barns (800) 343-BARN; www.mdbarns.com

Morton Buildings, Inc. (800) 4447-7436; (309) 263-7474;
www.mortonbuildings.com

Universal Steel Structures (800) 993-4660; www.universalsteel.com

Advertisement

Walters Buildings (800) 558-7800; (262) 629-5521; www.waltersbuildings.com

Wedgcor Steel Building Systems (303) 759-3200; www.wedgcor.com

Wick Buildings (800) 356-9682; www.wickbuildings.com

Stalls/Stall Accessories Ag-Co., Inc. (800) 522-2426; www.ag-co.com

Armour Gates (800) 876-7706; (407) 323-7707; www.armourgates.com

Behlen Country (800) 348-8939; (402) 564-3111; www.behlencountry.com

Breezy Gate (800) 411-0857; www.breezygate.com

Classic Equine Equipment (800) 444-7430; www.classic-equine.com

You've taken stock of your barn-it's showing signs of wear and tear. Your fencing could also use a facelift. Or-you finally have that slice of horse heaven and are ready to build for the first time. Either way, a horse barn plan can help. First, we'll give you some horse barn and fencing plan basics. Then we'll give you a listing of 68 barn, barn-accessory, and fencing resources.

Building Your Barn
Today's barn options are many, from a pole barn with dirt floors to an insulated, padded horse heaven. You can build your own barn, buy a prefabricated model, or hire a company to custom-build your barn for you. Typically, building your own is the least expensive choice (if you know what you're doing), a custom barn is your costliest choice, and a prefab barn lies in the middle of the cost scale. Which type of barn is right for you? Major considerations include type/materials, size, layout/design, cost, and add-ons. Here's a quick look at each one.

Type/materials. Barn type and materials go hand in hand. Consider a wood barn if you live in an area with a low fire risk, and would like to build the barn yourself or have one custom built. Note that wood-while cost effective for small barns-costs more and is more difficult to maintain than steel models. Prefabricated barns are made from steel, which is strong, reasonably priced, a breeze to keep up, and great for areas with high fire risk. Steel barns do, however, lack the character and warmth of a wood barn.

Layout/design. Next, decide how many and what size stalls you need (the bigger the stall, the happier your horse will be), how much feed and hay storage you need, and the size you'd like your tack room to be (if any). Depending on your budget, you might want a wash rack/vet-care area, storage for wheelbarrows and other stable supplies, and even a bathroom or an office. Layout and design is the fun part of barn building, but if your "wants" exceed your budget, it's easy to get frustrated. Stable Wise (425/788-4676; www.stablewise.com) can translate your needs into barn plans and provide you with blueprints. It also offers ready-made barn plans and barn-building information. Homestead Design, Inc. (360/385-9983; www.homesteaddesign.com) also offers a wide selection of ready-made barn plans.

Cost. What you'll pay for your barn varies widely, depending on the type of construction you use. A no-frills pole barn with a metal shell is around $4 per square foot. Custom barns can run you into six figures. Whatever you choose, be sure to factor in materials, insulation, excavation, grading, concrete foundation, water lines, stalls (including mats and fittings), and add-ons. Also consider location. If you build on an uneven surface, an excavator will charge more than if you build on a flat one. If you're tapping into a preexisting well, be sure that move will meet code in your area. Consider, too, how far you'll need to lay your water pipes.

Add-ons. These include such construction features as overhangs, eaves, gutters, flooring, ceilings, artificial light, doors, windows, and skylights. Be sure to give yourself plenty of electrical outlets for clippers, tank heaters, etc. Also, decide if you'd like to budget for an automatic watering system, and/or an automatic fly system.

Posted in Farm & Ranch, Fencing | | Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Get 8 issues of Trail Rider for only $19.97!
First Name:
Last Name:
Address Line 1:
Address Line 2:
City:
State:
Zip:
Email:
Subscribe!

Subscribe to
The Trail Rider

Subscribe to The Trail Rider

Subscribe today & Get
2 Free Issues + Free Gift!

Subscribe 
Give a Gift
Customer Service
Digital Subscriptions